February 4, 2015 // Local

Light of Learning teachers, administrator honored at luncheons

Light of Learning teachers honored at the 2015 Celebration of Excellence in Catholic Education Luncheon, held in Fort Wayne at the Hotel Fort Wayne on Jan. 27, included the following honorees: front row, from left, are Kathleen Schnurr, Scott Newman, Judith Prince, Jessica Sharp, Zachary Pepe and Dorothy Kissell; second row, Carl Loesch, Director Secretariat for Catholic Education, Diocese of Fort Wayne-South Bend, Theresa Kiracofe, Susan Curtis, Kathryn McIlwain, Bishop Kevin C. Rhoades, Mary Elizabeth Linn, Michelle Story and Susan Rost; third row, Nathan Conroy, Katelin Pleus, Vanessa Proulx, Mary Berghoff, Lindsay Kostoff, Lea Howard, Jill Scheumann, Tegan Fredrickson and Marsha Jordan, Superintendent of Catholic Schools.

By Tim Johnson 

FORT WAYNE, SOUTH BEND — Honoring its annual tradition during Catholic Schools Week, Quality Dining, Inc., hosted the Light of Learning Luncheons in Fort Wayne and South Bend to celebrate excellence in Catholic Education. Teachers, principals and benefactors of Catholic schools are honored at the event, which also kicks off the Quality Dining’s Catholic School coupon book fundraiser through the You Can Lend a Hand Program. The program, in its 33rd year, has raised over $9.6 million to benefit Catholic schools in Indiana and Michigan. Books are available from Catholic school students at $3 each now until Feb. 28.

Bishop Kevin C. Rhoades was the keynote speaker at both luncheons.

He said at the luncheons, “It is an event that reminds us of the gift of our Catholic schools and their important mission in the Church. That mission would not be fulfilled without the exemplary service of the outstanding educators whom we honor today.”

“That mission would not be fulfilled without the generosity of so many who financially support our schools,” Bishop Rhoades added. “And that mission would not be fulfilled without the commitment of our pastors who make Catholic education a priority in our parishes. I thank all of you.”

Also, at the luncheons, recipients of the Msgr. J. William Lester Award were recognized. Cindy and Keith Turner were the Fort Wayne area recipients of the award. The Sisters of St. Francis of Perpetual Adoration were the recipients at the South Bend event. Franciscan Sister M. Angela Mellady, provincial superior, accepted their award. The award honors Msgr. Lester’s spirit and legacy to the Catholic schools in the diocese.

Light of Learning teachers honored at the 2015 Celebration of Excellence in Catholic Education Luncheon, held in Fort Wayne at the Hotel Fort Wayne on Jan. 27, included the following honorees in the Fort Wayne area:

Kathryn McIlwain, Most Precious Blood School, Fort Wayne; Kathleen Schnurr, Queen of Angels School, Fort Wayne; Mary Elizabeth Linn, St. Charles Borromeo School, Fort Wayne; Katelin Pleus, St. John the Baptist School, Fort Wayne; Lindsay Kostoff, St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School, Fort Wayne; Tegan Fredrickson, St. Joseph, Fort Wayne; Mary Berghoff, St. Jude School, Fort Wayne; Vanessa Proulx, St. Therese School, Fort Wayne; Monica Bodien, St. Vincent de Paul School, Fort Wayne; Theresa Kiracofe, St. Aloysius School, Yoder; Zachary Pepe, St. John the Baptist School, New Haven; Judith Prince, St. Joseph School, Hessen Cassel, Fort Wayne; Jessica Sharp, St. Rose of Lima School, Monroeville; Susan Rost, St. Louis Academy, Besancon; Susan Curtis, St. Mary of the Assumption School, Avilla; Jill Scheumann, St. Joseph School, Decatur; Lea Howard, Huntington Catholic School, Huntington; Michelle Story, St. Bernard School, Wabash; Dorothy Kissell, Sacred Heart School, Warsaw; Nathan Conroy, Bishop Dwenger High School, Fort Wayne; and Scott Newman, Bishop Luers High School, Fort Wayne.

In attendance at the South Bend 2015 Celebration of Excellence Luncheon in at the Hilton Garden Inn in South Bend on Jan. 29 are the following: front row, from left, Stephen Donndelinger, Jennifer Howe, Jenelle Miller, Julie Kaniewski, Katherine Dyer and Carl Loesch, Director Secretariat for Catholic Education; second row, Christine Fox, Jennifer Sosinski, Bishop Kevin C. Rhoades, Marsha Jordan, Superintendent of Catholic Schools, Ann Schramski, Susan Dean and Christopher Fowler; third row, Joany Zielinski, Mary Ann Dornbos, Jill Lindley, Pamela Ritten, Tamra Wesolowski, Mary Beth Kolter, Catherine Knabenshue, Amy O’Brien and Melissa Wroblewski-Jay.

The South Bend area celebration was held Jan. 29 and included the following teachers and administrative honoree:

Jenelle Miller, Christ the King School, South Bend; Julie Kaniewski, Corpus Christi School, South Bend; Jennifer Sosinski, Holy Cross School, South Bend; Mary Ann Dornbos, Holy Family School, South Bend; Melissa Wroblewski-Jay, Our Lady of Hungary School, South Bend; Susan Dean, St. Adalbert School, South Bend; Christopher Fowler, St. Anthony de Padua School, South Bend; Joany Zielinski, St. John the Baptist School, South Bend; Tamra Wesolowski and administrator Stephen Donndelinger, St. Jude School, South Bend; Catherine Knabenshue, St. Matthew Cathedral School, South Bend; Jill Lindley, Queen of Peace School, Mishawaka; Ann Schramski, Mishawaka Catholic School, Mishawaka; Christine Fox, St. Thomas the Apostle School, Elkhart;  Jennifer Howe, St. Vincent de Paul School, Elkhart; Pamela Ritten, St. Pius X School, Granger; Mary Beth Kolter, St. Michael School, Plymouth; Katherine Dyer, Marian High School, Mishawaka; and Amy O’Brien, Saint Joseph High School, South Bend.

* * *

The best news. Delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe to our mailing list today.