Cindy Wooden
Catholic News Service
November 19, 2009 // Uncategorized

Pope names Notre Dame professor to theological commission

Cindy Wooden
Catholic News Service

By Cindy Wooden

VATICAN CITY (CNS) — Pope Benedict XVI has named the chairman of the University of Notre Dame’s Department of Theology to the International Theological Commission.

The appointment of John C. Cavadini, a scholar of patristic and early medieval theology, was announced Nov. 19 by the Vatican.

Cavadini also directs Notre Dame’s Institute for Church Life and in September was named co-chairman of the university’s new Task Force on Supporting the Choice for Life.

The professor earned his bachelor’s degree from Wesleyan University in Middletown, Conn.; a master’s degree from Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wis.; and a master’s and a doctorate from Yale University.

The 30 members of the International Theological Commission conduct research on theological topics and serve as advisors to the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.

Three other members of the commission work in the United States and were appointed to second five-year terms last June. They are:

• Sister Sara Butler, a member of the Missionary Servants of the Most Blessed Trinity, who teaches dogmatic theology at the New York Archdiocese’s St. Joseph’s Seminary in Yonkers.

• Nigerian Father Peter Damian Akpunonu, a professor of biblical exegesis at the University of St. Mary of the Lake/Mundelein Seminary in Chicago.

• British Msgr. Paul McPartlan, a professor of systematic theology and ecumenism at The Catholic University of America in Washington.

* * *

The best news. Delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe to our mailing list today.