February 3, 2010 // Local

Educators honored with Light of Learning Award

MISHAWAKA — The annual Luncheon in Celebration of Excellence in Catholic Education sponsored by Quality Dining, Inc. took place on Feb. 1 at the Hilton Garden Inn on the campus of Saint Mary’s College in the Gillespie Conference Center, and Feb. 4 in the Marquis Ballroom at the Fort Wayne Marriott.

Bishop Kevin C. Rhoades served as the luncheon’s keynote speaker.

Twenty educators from the South Bend area received the Light of Learning award in recognition of their positive impact on Catholic education. Those teachers were: Kathleen Murphy, Christ the King School; Kathleen Leyes, Corpus Christi School; Mallory Schoenle, Holy Family School;  Melissa Wroblewski-Jay, Our Lady of Hungary School;  Annette Romans, St. Adalbert School; Linda Maenhout, St. Anthony de Padua; Marilynn Williams, St. John the Baptist School; Mary Sue Lamie, St. Joseph School, South Bend; Randi Dillon, St. Jude School; Theresa Lolmaugh, St. Matthew Cathedral School; Mary Korzan, Queen of Peace School; Gina Mynsberge, St. Bavo School; Mary Lucchese, St. Thomas the Apostle School;  Brigid Byrne, St. Vincent de Paul School; Ruth Newell, St. John the Evangelist School; Stacy Wall, St. Pius X School; Laura Popielski, St. Michael School; Anne Marie Ganser, Marian High School; and Lorie Fournier-Norem, Saint Joseph’s High School. This year’s Light of Learning administrative recipient is Carl Loesch, Marian High School.

In addition, Msgr. William Schooler from St. Pius X School, Granger, was presented as a special Light of Learning honoree.

Nineteen educators from the Fort Wayne area have received the Light of Learning award in recognition of their positive impact on Catholic education. Those teachers were: Ann Baker, Most Precious Blood School; Kimberly Berghoff, St. Jude School; Derek Boone, Huntington Catholic School; Thomas Christle, St. Charles Borromeo School; Jenna Corson, St. Louis Academy; Jason Draper, Bishop Luers High School; Brigid Frey, Queen of Angels School; Jennifer Grimm, St. Mary of the Assumption School; Cindy Kelley, St. Bernard School; Dan Loney, Bishop Dwenger High School; Michelle Miller, St. Joseph School, Decatur; Tracy Miller, St. Aloysius School; Katelin Pleus, St. John the Baptist School, Fort Wayne; Lili Polk, Sacred Heart School, Warsaw; Justin Pranger, St. John the Baptist School, New Haven; Carolyn Schultz, St. Therese School; Margaret Widner, St. Joseph-St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School; and Cynthia Wolf, St. Vincent de Paul School. Sister Kathleen Marie Knueven, SND, from St. Jude School, Fort Wayne, was this year’s Light of Learning administrative recipient.

* * *

The best news. Delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe to our mailing list today.